By Lauren Hugh, contributor; April 2021

My grandfather has once again given me the platform of his paper to write to you, dear readers. However, today the topic is somewhat more serious. I’m sure I am not the first person to tell you that we have a few problems in our country. The most prevalent issue being current racial divides.

I’ve generally never been one to speak out on racial issues. My dad has always said, you should never talk about politics or religion at a party, it just starts arguments. I assumed the same principal applied to race, so therefore, I kept my mouth shut about it.

I also am aware that I have a certain degree of privilege being a mixed Chinese-American. I didn’t know what race was until I was about 12, so I generally never let derogatory comments get in my way. I brushed off the kids talking in “Asian accents” at school, or simply joined in out of pure shock and fear of not knowing what else to do in that situation.

Now I am older, and I would like to think, wiser. Looking back on my childhood and upbringing, there were instances of racism everywhere. Most were acts of ingrained or subconscious racism, but that still doesn’t make them excusable. However, today there is a much bigger issue. The great pandora’s box of racism has been opened. Acts of violent, physical abuse are happening to Asian elders nationally and internationally. And these hate crimes are not isolated events.